

Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities P.O. Box 196900 • Anchorage, AK 99519-6900

Lee Ryan, Chair 2<sup>nd</sup> Judicial District

Jim Dodson, Vice-Chair City of Fairbanks and North Star Borough

Adam White Non-Commercial Aviation

Robert Hajdukovich Statewide Air Carriers Association

Marilyn Romano Alaska International Airport System Signatory Air Carriers

Dennis Parrish Alaska International Airport System Non-Airline Tenants

Gideon Garcia All-Cargo Carriers

Frank Neitz Unorganized Borough

Mike Reeve Public Users

Mike Stedman Regional Air Carriers

Steve Strait Municipality of Anchorage

## Aviation Advisory Board Resolution No. 2021-1

## A Resolution in Support of the Federal Aviation Administration's Alaska Aviation Safety Initiative

**Whereas**: Improved aviation infrastructure, including additional weather reporting stations, radio repeaters to allow pilots to communicate with Air Traffic Control and Flight Service Stations, weather cameras to be able to directly observe current conditions, are all vital to aviation safety in the state.

**Whereas**: This infrastructure in Alaska is minimal, compared to the rest of the country, due to the large size and relative age of the state.

**Whereas**: The different lines of business within the FAA each have their processes to identify and prioritize projects that impact Alaska.

**Whereas**: The FAA Alaska Aviation Safety Initiative (FAASI) represents an opportunity to coordinate projects across the different business lines of the FAA to develop a more integrated plan to address our need for access and safety.

**Therefore be it resolved**: The Aviation Advisory Board supports the concept of the FAA Alaska Aviation Safety Initiative to coordinate projects across FAA to ensure a more integrated approach to improving aviation infrastructure in Alaska.

**Be it further resolved**: We request that ongoing stakeholder input be included in the initiative process to help develop a balanced plan to address safety issues and infrastructure development.

Signed:

Lee M. Ryan, Aviation Advisory Board Chair

Date: February, 17th 2020